Olsburg Explorations |
Most previous histories of Olsburg say that the town began in 1880 when the Kansas Central Railroad ran its line through this part of the prairie and Oscar and C.W. Fagerberg opened up a general store. To taste the real flavor of the times we need to go back further...
The History and Stories of the Carnahan Creek Area will help you to better understand and appreciate this scenic drive, its people and its history.
The centerpiece of the park is a miniature version of an L. K. & W. train, located where the original train track ran through town.
Find the unique carving in the center of the cemetery. Be sure to look at both sides! Headstones written in Swedish are common here.
The building of Tuttle Creek Reservoir has impacted Olsburg in a variety of ways. Explore the relocated cemetery and discover their deep Swedish roots.
Mariadahl Lutheran was the first Lutheran church west of the Mississippi River.
Olsburg was once the happenin' place to be when horse races were held at the track just northeast of present day Greenwood Park.